Skip to content
ChargeCaseYard

Gear, by what it has to do

Wall Chargers

The job: turning house current into the protocol your phone speaks.

A wall charger has one job and it is not "making electricity faster". It converts house current into a low voltage, then negotiates with the phone about how much of it to hand over. The negotiation is the part the box never explains, and it is the part that decides everything.

That is why the wattage printed on a block is only half a sentence. Twenty watts on a single-port block is twenty watts for the one thing plugged into it. Sixty watts across five ports is sixty watts for all five together, divided by rules the manufacturer usually does not publish.

The blocks below are sorted by how directly they answer that question. A charger that states a figure for a specific port has told you something. A charger that states a total and stops has told you the size of a pie, not the size of your slice.

Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links, and a qualifying purchase may earn this site a commission at no extra cost to you. It changes nothing about what is written here: no prices, no ratings, and no claims of our own testing. Affiliate Disclosure.

How to choose one

What to weighWhat to look forWhy it matters
Port countHow many ports, and whether the listing names a figure for any single oneOne port means the stated wattage is undivided. Five ports means the stated wattage is a total and the split is usually unpublished.
Named protocolPD, PPS, or Quick Charge written out rather than just a wattageA protocol name tells you the charger negotiates. A bare wattage tells you what the transformer can do, not what your phone will be offered.
Cable includedWhether a cable ships in the box, and what lengthA capable charger with a limited cable behaves like a limited charger. Outlet placement decides length more often than anything else.
Physical shapeFolding pins, thickness, whether it blocks the second outletA block that covers the adjacent socket costs you an outlet, which is a real cost in a hotel room with two of them.
GaN or notWhether the listing states GaN constructionGaN is about size and heat, not extra speed. It is why a high-wattage block can be small, not why it is fast.

20W single-port

One port, one number, nothing to divide. Whatever the block is rated for is offered to the single thing plugged into it.

6 listings in this subgroup.

  • Anker 20W USB-C Charger Block, 2-pack

    Two blocks, two cables

    Anker 20W USB-C Charger Block, 2-pack

    20W single-port

    Two 20W USB-C blocks with cables, which is the least interesting and most useful thing in this category. One port means the stated figure is not being divided between sockets, which is the only thing a wattage on a box can honestly tell you. Two of them means one lives by the bed and one lives somewhere else.

    Stated total
    20W
    Per port
    20W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    Two cables stated

    The listing states: 20W USB-C, two blocks with two cables.

    View on Amazon
  • 20W USB-C Charger Block with 6 ft Cable

    20W USB-C Charger Block with 6 ft Cable

    20W single-port

    A 20W PD block with a six foot cable, which is the length most people actually need and rarely get in the box. PD is named in the listing, which means the block is stated to negotiate rather than just push five volts. One port, so the number is not shared.

    Stated total
    20W
    Per port
    20W PD stated on the single USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C
    Cable
    6 ft USB-C cable stated

    The listing states: 20W PD output and a 6 ft USB-C cable.

    View on Amazon
  • 20W Charger Block with 10 ft USB-C Cable

    20W Charger Block with 10 ft USB-C Cable

    20W single-port

    The same 20W idea with a ten foot cable instead of six. Ten feet is the length that turns an awkward outlet into a non-issue, and it is the only meaningful difference between this and the shorter version. Long cables lose a little voltage over the run, which matters more at high wattage than at twenty watts.

    Stated total
    20W
    Per port
    20W on the single stated port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C
    Cable
    10 ft cable stated

    The listing states: 20W output and a 10 ft cable.

    View on Amazon
  • 20W Block with Lightning Cables, 2-pack

    20W Block with Lightning Cables, 2-pack

    20W single-port

    Two 20W blocks paired with USB-C to Lightning cables at six and ten feet. This is a set for a Lightning phone, which means an iPhone 14 or older, and it is worth knowing that before it arrives. The two different cable lengths in one box is the unusual part.

    Stated total
    20W
    Per port
    20W per stated block
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    6 ft and 10 ft USB-C to Lightning stated

    The listing states: 20W blocks with 6 ft and 10 ft USB-C to Lightning cables.

    View on Amazon
  • 20W USB-C Charger Block with 6 ft USB-C to C Cable, 2-pack

    20W USB-C Charger Block with 6 ft USB-C to C Cable, 2-pack

    20W single-port

    Two 20W blocks with two USB-C to USB-C cables. The listing states the cable type as well as the length, which matters more than it sounds: a USB-C to USB-C cable is the one a current iPhone or iPad actually uses, and the older Lightning bundles on this page do not fit those phones at all. One port per block means the 20W is undivided.

    Stated total
    20W
    Per port
    20W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    6 ft USB-C to USB-C stated, one per block

    The listing states: 20W USB-C, two blocks, each with a 6 ft USB-C to USB-C cable, named for iPhone 17, 16 and 15 families and iPad.

    View on Amazon
  • 20W USB-C Block with 10 ft and 6 ft Lightning Cables, 2-pack

    20W USB-C Block with 10 ft and 6 ft Lightning Cables, 2-pack

    20W single-port

    Two 20W blocks with two Lightning cables of different lengths, which is a sensible way to bundle: the long one goes wherever the outlet is far from the bed, the short one goes on the desk. Lightning is the detail to check, because it fits the iPhones the listing names and none of the USB-C iPhones released since.

    Stated total
    20W
    Per port
    20W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    10 ft and 6 ft USB-C to Lightning stated

    The listing states: 20W USB-C, two blocks, one 10 ft and one 6 ft USB-C to Lightning cable, named for iPhone 14 through 11, Xs Max, XR, X and iPad.

    View on Amazon

20W single-port side by side

  • Anker 20W USB-C Charger Block, 2-pack

    Per-port figure
    20W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    Two cables stated
    The listing leads with
    20W USB-C
    Best for
    Covering two rooms with the boring, correct wattage.
  • 20W USB-C Charger Block with 6 ft Cable

    Per-port figure
    20W PD stated on the single USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C
    Cable
    6 ft USB-C cable stated
    The listing leads with
    20W PD output
    Best for
    The default charger for one phone in one place.
  • 20W Charger Block with 10 ft USB-C Cable

    Per-port figure
    20W on the single stated port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C
    Cable
    10 ft cable stated
    The listing leads with
    20W output
    Best for
    An outlet that is on the wrong side of the room.
  • 20W Block with Lightning Cables, 2-pack

    Per-port figure
    20W per stated block
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    6 ft and 10 ft USB-C to Lightning stated
    The listing leads with
    20W blocks with 6 ft
    Best for
    A household still running on Lightning.
  • 20W USB-C Charger Block with 6 ft USB-C to C Cable, 2-pack

    Per-port figure
    20W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    6 ft USB-C to USB-C stated, one per block
    The listing leads with
    20W USB-C
    Best for
    A USB-C iPhone or iPad that needs a block and a cable in two rooms.
  • 20W USB-C Block with 10 ft and 6 ft Lightning Cables, 2-pack

    Per-port figure
    20W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    10 ft and 6 ft USB-C to Lightning stated
    The listing leads with
    20W USB-C
    Best for
    A Lightning iPhone household that needs a long cable in one room and a short one in another.

Multi-port and high wattage

Bigger numbers, shared between sockets. Read every figure here as a budget for the whole block unless the listing names a specific port.

9 listings in this subgroup.

  • Anker Nano 45W Smart Display Charger

    One port, no split

    Anker Nano 45W Smart Display Charger

    Multi-port and high wattage

    A single-port GaN block with a small readout on the face. Because the listing states one USB-C port, the 45W figure is not a budget being divided between sockets, which is the whole reason this page keeps repeating the phrase "port budget" everywhere else. No cable is included, so the cable you already own decides what actually happens.

    Stated total
    45W
    Per port
    45W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C

    45W is the total budget for the whole unit across every port at once, not what a single phone is handed.

    The listing states: 45W max, GaN, a 180 degree foldable plug, a single USB-C port, and no cable in the box.

    View on Amazon
  • 25W USB-C Wall Charger with 10 ft Cable, 2-pack

    25W, the Galaxy number

    25W USB-C Wall Charger with 10 ft Cable, 2-pack

    Multi-port and high wattage

    Twenty-five watts is the figure that shows up in Samsung documentation for its faster charging mode, and this listing states that number directly. The ten foot cable is the actual reason most people buy a set like this, because outlet placement is the real constraint in most bedrooms. Two blocks, so the second one can live in a bag.

    Stated total
    25W
    Per port
    25W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    10 ft cable stated

    The listing states: 25W for Samsung super fast charging.

    View on Amazon
  • 20W Dual-Port Charger Block, 4-pack

    20W Dual-Port Charger Block, 4-pack

    Multi-port and high wattage

    Four blocks, each with a USB-C port stated at PD 20W and a USB-A port stated at QC 3.0. This is the first listing in the category where the phrase "per block" matters, because two ports on one block share whatever the block can actually deliver. The listing states the two port specifications but not what happens when both are occupied.

    Stated total
    20W
    Per port
    PD 20W stated on USB-C, QC 3.0 stated on USB-A
    Ports
    1 x USB-C + 1 x USB-A per block

    The listing states: PD 20W USB-C plus QC 3.0 USB-A per block.

    View on Amazon
  • 60W 5-Port USB-C Wall Charger, 2-pack

    60W 5-Port USB-C Wall Charger, 2-pack

    Multi-port and high wattage

    The listing states 60W total across five ports, and that sentence is the entire lesson of this site in one line. Sixty watts is the budget for the whole block. Five devices plugged in at once are dividing that number, not each receiving it, and the listing does not publish how the division is made.

    Stated total
    60W
    Per port
    Manufacturer does not publish the split
    Ports
    5 ports stated

    60W is the total budget for the whole unit across every port at once, not what a single phone is handed.

    The listing states: 60W total across five ports.

    View on Amazon
  • Dual-Port USB-C Charger Block, 2-pack

    Dual-Port USB-C Charger Block, 2-pack

    Multi-port and high wattage

    A pair of two-port cubes where the listing names the phones it is meant for and stops short of naming a wattage. That omission is the whole review. Two ports on one block means whatever the transformer can do is shared the moment a second device is plugged in, and without a stated figure there is no way to say how large the pie is, let alone the slice.

    Per port
    Manufacturer does not publish the split
    Ports
    2 ports per block, USB-C stated

    The listing states: Two blocks, each with two ports including a USB-C, named for iPhone 14 through 11, XS, XR, X, iPad and Samsung. No wattage or cable is stated in the title.

    View on Amazon
  • LUOATIP 2.1A Dual-Port USB-A Charger Cube, 3-pack

    LUOATIP 2.1A Dual-Port USB-A Charger Cube, 3-pack

    Multi-port and high wattage

    Three small USB-A cubes rated in amps rather than watts, which already tells you the generation. 2.1A at 5V is the old phone-charger figure, before USB-C and before any protocol negotiation, and it is shared across two ports. These are the blocks you leave at a relative's house or keep behind the couch for something that is charging all night anyway.

    Per port
    Manufacturer does not publish the split
    Ports
    2 x USB-A per cube

    The listing states: 2.1A at 5V, two USB-A ports per cube, three cubes, named for iPhone 14 back to 6, Galaxy, LG, Moto and Android phones.

    View on Amazon
  • 25W USB-C Charger with 6 ft Cable, 2-pack

    25W USB-C Charger with 6 ft Cable, 2-pack

    Multi-port and high wattage

    Two 25W blocks with 6 ft USB-C cables, named for Galaxy phones. Twenty-five watts is the number Samsung prints for its own fast charging, which is why a listing aimed at Galaxy owners picks it. Whether a specific phone takes the full figure depends on the protocol the block negotiates, and the title states the wattage without naming one.

    Stated total
    25W
    Per port
    25W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    6 ft USB-C cable stated, one per block

    The listing states: 25W USB-C, two blocks, each with a 6 ft USB-C cable, named for Samsung Galaxy.

    View on Amazon
  • Dual-Port USB-A Wall Charger Cube

    Dual-Port USB-A Wall Charger Cube

    Multi-port and high wattage

    A two-port USB-A cube with no wattage in the title, which puts it in the same drawer as the old amp-rated blocks. USB-A means it drives the cables most people already own and none of the USB-C to USB-C ones. With two ports and no figure, it is a block for things that can charge slowly overnight, not for the phone you need back in an hour.

    Per port
    Manufacturer does not publish the split
    Ports
    2 x USB-A

    The listing states: Two USB-A ports on a cube plug. No wattage or cable is stated in the title.

    View on Amazon
  • 40W USB-C Multiport Charger Cube, 2-pack

    40W USB-C Multiport Charger Cube, 2-pack

    Multi-port and high wattage

    Two multiport cubes with 40W stated for each block. Forty watts is a total, and the title does not say how it is divided, which means the honest reading is a budget shared by everything plugged in. On its own, a single phone on one port may get more than any of the 20W blocks on this page offer. With everything filled, nobody gets 40W.

    Stated total
    40W
    Per port
    Manufacturer does not publish the split
    Ports
    Multiple ports per cube, USB-C stated

    40W is the total budget for the whole unit across every port at once, not what a single phone is handed.

    The listing states: 40W total, USB-C, multiple ports per cube, two cubes. No per-port figure or cable is stated in the title.

    View on Amazon

Multi-port and high wattage side by side

  • Anker Nano 45W Smart Display Charger

    Stated total
    45W
    Per-port figure
    45W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C
    Cable
    None stated
    The listing leads with
    45W max
    Best for
    One device at a time, when you want to see what the charger settled on.
  • 25W USB-C Wall Charger with 10 ft Cable, 2-pack

    Stated total
    25W
    Per-port figure
    25W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    10 ft cable stated
    The listing leads with
    25W for Samsung super fast charging
    Best for
    A Galaxy on a nightstand that is nowhere near an outlet.
  • 20W Dual-Port Charger Block, 4-pack

    Stated total
    20W
    Per-port figure
    PD 20W stated on USB-C, QC 3.0 stated on USB-A
    Ports
    1 x USB-C + 1 x USB-A per block
    Cable
    None stated
    The listing leads with
    PD 20W USB-C plus QC 3.0 USB-A per block
    Best for
    Filling every room in a house with something adequate.
  • 60W 5-Port USB-C Wall Charger, 2-pack

    Stated total
    60W
    Per-port figure
    Not published
    Ports
    5 ports stated
    Cable
    None stated
    The listing leads with
    60W total across five ports
    Best for
    A desk with a lot of small things and no urgency.
  • Dual-Port USB-C Charger Block, 2-pack

    Stated total
    Not stated
    Per-port figure
    Not published
    Ports
    2 ports per block, USB-C stated
    Cable
    None stated
    The listing leads with
    Two blocks
    Best for
    Spare outlets around the house where a phone and a second device charge overnight.
  • LUOATIP 2.1A Dual-Port USB-A Charger Cube, 3-pack

    Stated total
    Not stated
    Per-port figure
    Not published
    Ports
    2 x USB-A per cube
    Cable
    None stated
    The listing leads with
    2.1A at 5V
    Best for
    Overnight charging of older phones and small devices from a drawer full of USB-A cables.
  • 25W USB-C Charger with 6 ft Cable, 2-pack

    Stated total
    25W
    Per-port figure
    25W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    6 ft USB-C cable stated, one per block
    The listing leads with
    25W USB-C
    Best for
    A Galaxy household that wants the 25W number and a cable in the box.
  • Dual-Port USB-A Wall Charger Cube

    Stated total
    Not stated
    Per-port figure
    Not published
    Ports
    2 x USB-A
    Cable
    None stated
    The listing leads with
    Two USB-A ports on a cube plug. No wattage or cable is stated in the title
    Best for
    A spare outlet where older devices charge overnight on USB-A cables.
  • 40W USB-C Multiport Charger Cube, 2-pack

    Stated total
    40W
    Per-port figure
    Not published
    Ports
    Multiple ports per cube, USB-C stated
    Cable
    None stated
    The listing leads with
    40W total
    Best for
    A desk or nightstand where two or three devices share one outlet and none of them is a laptop.

Everything in Wall Chargers, side by side

The whole category, on the stated figures only

  • Anker Nano 45W Smart Display Charger

    Subgroup
    Multi-port and high wattage
    Stated total
    45W
    Per-port figure
    45W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C
    Cable
    None stated
    The listing leads with
    45W max
    Best for
    One device at a time, when you want to see what the charger settled on.
  • Anker 20W USB-C Charger Block, 2-pack

    Subgroup
    20W single-port
    Stated total
    20W
    Per-port figure
    20W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    Two cables stated
    The listing leads with
    20W USB-C
    Best for
    Covering two rooms with the boring, correct wattage.
  • 25W USB-C Wall Charger with 10 ft Cable, 2-pack

    Subgroup
    Multi-port and high wattage
    Stated total
    25W
    Per-port figure
    25W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    10 ft cable stated
    The listing leads with
    25W for Samsung super fast charging
    Best for
    A Galaxy on a nightstand that is nowhere near an outlet.
  • 20W Dual-Port Charger Block, 4-pack

    Subgroup
    Multi-port and high wattage
    Stated total
    20W
    Per-port figure
    PD 20W stated on USB-C, QC 3.0 stated on USB-A
    Ports
    1 x USB-C + 1 x USB-A per block
    Cable
    None stated
    The listing leads with
    PD 20W USB-C plus QC 3.0 USB-A per block
    Best for
    Filling every room in a house with something adequate.
  • 60W 5-Port USB-C Wall Charger, 2-pack

    Subgroup
    Multi-port and high wattage
    Stated total
    60W
    Per-port figure
    Not published
    Ports
    5 ports stated
    Cable
    None stated
    The listing leads with
    60W total across five ports
    Best for
    A desk with a lot of small things and no urgency.
  • 20W USB-C Charger Block with 6 ft Cable

    Subgroup
    20W single-port
    Stated total
    20W
    Per-port figure
    20W PD stated on the single USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C
    Cable
    6 ft USB-C cable stated
    The listing leads with
    20W PD output
    Best for
    The default charger for one phone in one place.
  • 20W Charger Block with 10 ft USB-C Cable

    Subgroup
    20W single-port
    Stated total
    20W
    Per-port figure
    20W on the single stated port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C
    Cable
    10 ft cable stated
    The listing leads with
    20W output
    Best for
    An outlet that is on the wrong side of the room.
  • 20W Block with Lightning Cables, 2-pack

    Subgroup
    20W single-port
    Stated total
    20W
    Per-port figure
    20W per stated block
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    6 ft and 10 ft USB-C to Lightning stated
    The listing leads with
    20W blocks with 6 ft
    Best for
    A household still running on Lightning.
  • Dual-Port USB-C Charger Block, 2-pack

    Subgroup
    Multi-port and high wattage
    Stated total
    Not stated
    Per-port figure
    Not published
    Ports
    2 ports per block, USB-C stated
    Cable
    None stated
    The listing leads with
    Two blocks
    Best for
    Spare outlets around the house where a phone and a second device charge overnight.
  • 20W USB-C Charger Block with 6 ft USB-C to C Cable, 2-pack

    Subgroup
    20W single-port
    Stated total
    20W
    Per-port figure
    20W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    6 ft USB-C to USB-C stated, one per block
    The listing leads with
    20W USB-C
    Best for
    A USB-C iPhone or iPad that needs a block and a cable in two rooms.
  • LUOATIP 2.1A Dual-Port USB-A Charger Cube, 3-pack

    Subgroup
    Multi-port and high wattage
    Stated total
    Not stated
    Per-port figure
    Not published
    Ports
    2 x USB-A per cube
    Cable
    None stated
    The listing leads with
    2.1A at 5V
    Best for
    Overnight charging of older phones and small devices from a drawer full of USB-A cables.
  • 20W USB-C Block with 10 ft and 6 ft Lightning Cables, 2-pack

    Subgroup
    20W single-port
    Stated total
    20W
    Per-port figure
    20W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    10 ft and 6 ft USB-C to Lightning stated
    The listing leads with
    20W USB-C
    Best for
    A Lightning iPhone household that needs a long cable in one room and a short one in another.
  • 25W USB-C Charger with 6 ft Cable, 2-pack

    Subgroup
    Multi-port and high wattage
    Stated total
    25W
    Per-port figure
    25W on the single stated USB-C port
    Ports
    1 x USB-C per block
    Cable
    6 ft USB-C cable stated, one per block
    The listing leads with
    25W USB-C
    Best for
    A Galaxy household that wants the 25W number and a cable in the box.
  • Dual-Port USB-A Wall Charger Cube

    Subgroup
    Multi-port and high wattage
    Stated total
    Not stated
    Per-port figure
    Not published
    Ports
    2 x USB-A
    Cable
    None stated
    The listing leads with
    Two USB-A ports on a cube plug. No wattage or cable is stated in the title
    Best for
    A spare outlet where older devices charge overnight on USB-A cables.
  • 40W USB-C Multiport Charger Cube, 2-pack

    Subgroup
    Multi-port and high wattage
    Stated total
    40W
    Per-port figure
    Not published
    Ports
    Multiple ports per cube, USB-C stated
    Cable
    None stated
    The listing leads with
    40W total
    Best for
    A desk or nightstand where two or three devices share one outlet and none of them is a laptop.

Questions that come up at the counter

Does a 60W five-port charger give my phone 60W?

No. Sixty watts is the budget for the entire block with everything plugged in. Your phone gets whatever the block allocates it after the split, and most listings do not publish how that split works.

Is a bigger charger bad for my phone?

A phone asks for what it wants through the charging protocol and takes no more than that. A charger rated higher than the phone needs is not forced onto it. What a bigger charger buys you is headroom, not risk.

Why is my new fast charger slow?

Three usual suspects, in order: the cable, the protocol, and the temperature. A cable without the right rating will cap the whole chain. A charger and a phone that do not share a protocol fall back to something slow. And a warm phone deliberately slows its own charging.

Do I need a 45W charger for a phone?

Usually the reason is not the phone. A phone negotiates for what it wants and takes no more, so any headroom above that simply sits unused. What a 45W block buys you is one charger that also covers a tablet or a laptop.

What does "GaN" change about a wall charger?

Gallium nitride switches more efficiently than silicon, which means less waste heat and a smaller body for the same output. It does not add speed on its own.

Sources

Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links, and a qualifying purchase may earn this site a commission at no extra cost to you. It changes nothing about what is written here: no prices, no ratings, and no claims of our own testing. Affiliate Disclosure.